Skip to content

Things to Think About

November 24, 2009

Saundra has named the publishing company that she’s going to start up so that we can publish our co-authored pieces through Lightning Source (LSI). The name is Storm Moon Press (yay!). After hearing her reasons behind the name (both of us being born in March, aka the Storm Moon, and being drawn to the colours green and purple that it represents, among other things) and saying it a few times, I’ve found that it rolls nicely and makes me smile. It’s exciting to know that we’re really going to get our work out there!

While talking over the phone with Saundra about options for our work and the formation of Storm Moon Press, we have two main routes. We can go the LLC (Limited Liability Company) route, which would make us full partners in the publishing endeavour. This would be a very exciting venture for us both (along with her husband, Roger, who is invaluable). The other option is for Storm Moon Press to be a sole-proprietorship that she takes responsibility for, and then our co-authored works would be under a separate, written contract. This is also viable.

Basically, it all comes down to my decision on how involved I would like to be. Saundra and Roger were both wonderful over the phone in explaining things to me (thanks, you guys!), and they made it clear that they’re giving me this option because I have other goals to consider and weigh in along with this one. It’s a long-term venture, the creation of this publishing business, and while part of me is very excited about it, part of me is also worried (once again) about being able to put in the effort that it really deserves.

Over the holiday season, I’m going to try to actually come up with a ten-year plan for myself. It’s about time, really, since I’ve finished my schooling and will need to have long-term goals if I’m going to get anywhere in the future. I need to figure out what I want to push myself to achieve over a longer period of time, as opposed to the next few months or a year. Because if you’re not aiming upward, what exactly are you shooting for, right? ^_^

I think it will help if I get this massage position that I just did a hands-on interview for today. Getting that steady work experience will help me better understand what time I have outside work and what a realistic goal will be. That I want to keep writing isn’t even an issue, truly, since I know I want to be writing throughout this whole thing. It’s the publishing aspect that I have to think about. There are certain things that I would like to learn about, no matter what my decision is in the end (formatting manuscripts, basics of cover-art, some of the things that I should know as a self-published author anyway). But learning those things doesn’t make me qualified to be in charge of other people’s manuscripts and setting them up for success.

Well, I think I’ve rambled about this enough. The main point is that I have a lot of thinking to do about my future and the goals I would like to pursue over the next few years. It’s a good thing to do and something that’s been a bit overdue. However it turns out, I’m really happy that I have the support of my family, friends, and co-author. That means the world to me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Paige Tighe permalink
    November 25, 2009 2:24 pm

    Hi Kris, please disregard if there’s no connection. Are you any relation to a Kris Piet who grew up in NYC–a redhead–in the 60s? A couple of cousins are trying to track her down. Thanks!

    • November 25, 2009 2:40 pm

      Hello Paige.

      Unfortunately, I’m not the same Kris Piet. I grew up in Flagstaff, Arizona. Sorry I can’t help!

      Thank you for stopping by anyway. ^_^

      ~Kris

  2. Paige Tighe permalink
    November 25, 2009 2:25 pm

    Sorry if this boogered up your page with something totally unrelated to your blog.

Leave a Reply

