Skip to content

Updates before the New Year

December 30, 2009

Personal Update:

I had a truly wonderful Christmas at home with my family. Sure, the presents were great (a new, warm coat, a couple movies, my new desk chair), but it was just the company and the spirit of the season that was what I’ll hold on to. Even though I was (and still am) sick with a cough/cold of some sort, I’ve had a wonderful time. Flagstaff is just beautiful this time of year with the snow. It might have its drawbacks as well, but it’s great to look outside and feel that sense of awe that accompanies beautiful sights in nature.

As a bit of a random side note: I completed a drawing involving two of the original characters Saundra and I created for our World of Egaea books. Darron and Maelog have been a lot of fun to mess around with in instant messaging role-play (IMRP) over the last year. Anyone interested in seeing a crappy digital photo of the work can check it out here.

As 2010 draws near, I think about the trials and triumphs of the last year. It’s been a tough one, from relationships, to finishing up my college education, to moving back to Arizona, to searching for a job (which I haven’t found yet, though I’m scheduling a couple private clients every now and then). *chuckles* The list could go on. But while a lot has happened, I’m happy with what I’ve accomplished and the ways I’ve continued to grow.

One of the things that pops to mind, though it might seem silly, is how much I have read in the last year. Since starting to write with Saundra (S.L. Armstrong), I’ve really been reading. The count for books and stories (this includes e-books) I’ve read this year is all the way up at 37. O_o I have never read that much in a single year before, and that number doesn’t count the articles I’ve read online or any of my college texts (yeah, I’m one of the dweebs who actually reads the texts for the classes).

I can only hope this coming year will be just as wonderful in the area of expanding my knowledge!

Storm Moon Press Update:

The themes for the next five Anthologies at Storm Moon Press have been chosen! Submissions for the first anthology Cast the Cards, open January 1st, 2010. We’re looking for alternate lifestyle erotic romances between 5,000 and 10,000 words. Each story is to be based on a different tarot card from the Major Arcana. Check out this website to get more information on the cards and brainstorm, if you’re interested!

If you complete a story for submission, see the SMP Submission Guidelines and send it on in for review!

Here are the anthologies we have scheduled, ordered by their publishing dates:

October 31st, 2010: Cast the Cards, stories based on the Major Arcana Tarot
June 21st, 2011: If We Shadows…, stories with fairies as the main theme
December 1st, 2011: By Gaslight, historical stories centring on the Victorian Era (1837-1901)
March 20th, 2012: Live By The Sword, stories with a high fantasy theme
September 22nd, 2012: Three, stories centring on ménage à trois relationships

(Please note that the titles above are ‘working titles’ only and are subject to change. ^_^)

I will post up more information about each anthology as the submissions period for each draws closer. Keep an eye out for important dates and deadlines!

Lastly, on the topic of Storm Moon Press and the anthology, I’m thrilled that Saundra and I are working with Nathie for the cover art of Cast the Cards. She did a wonderful job on the cover for Rachmaninoff, so it’s exciting to see what she’s coming up with for the anthology. Many thanks to Nathie! What a wonderful gift for the holiday season!

I suppose that is all for now! I hope that all of you have a Happy New Year! It’s going to be quite the year for me, Saundra, and Storm Moon Press!

Happy New Year!
~Kris

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

