Skip to content

“Catalyst” reviewed by BookWenches

April 21, 2011

I’m thrilled to announce that Catalyst has received 4.5 stars out of 5 over on BookWenches. Bobby gave us a truly wonderful review, and I can’t give enough thanks. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review it, Bobby! I’m so happy it was enjoyable to another reader, that the darker themes were appreciated.

Here’s an excerpt from the review. You can find the entire review HERE.

In their title Catalyst, authors S. L. Armstrong and K. Piet give their readers a story of internal struggle, compulsion, pain, and ­­­­­ultimately love that is both intensely erotic and fascinatingly disturbing. When I picked this book up for review, the publisher wanted me to know what I was getting into, reminding me that the book contains scenes of rather intense BDSM. Fair enough; I was neither shocked nor offended, but I’ll pass the warning on to you nevertheless. This title is anything but mainstream. It challenges the reader and pushes limits, but its ultimate message is quite sane. Because Catalyst is about finding a balance, a middle ground between extremes.

Right out of the gate, this book snagged me with its unique dedications: “This novel is dedicated to anyone who ever felt like a pervert for wanting what they need.” Although the plot revolves around a hardcore fetish, blood fetishism (hematolagania for the science geeks out there), this dedication is for anyone who might be a little “out there” with their personal tastes. Because truly, who are we to judge others as long as their activities are consensual and no harm is done? Please note the emphasis, because this book clearly distinguishes between hurt and harm.

This is the first review that has mentioned the dedication. I’m so happy that even that detail was enjoyed. Saundra is the one who included that with the book, but I loved that it had been added there, since it really is a story that we wrote with that audience in mind. Our aim was to be respectful and tell a wonderful story involving some of the darker struggles many deal with throughout their lives (though perhaps not with the specific fetishes our characters had). I’m so happy it was received well in this case, and I hope others will enjoy it as much. ^_^

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

