Skip to content

Settling In After My Cross-Country Move

July 4, 2011

Sorry for the radio silence! It’s been a very busy couple of weeks.

I was quite occupied with the task of packing up my apartment, moving the big furniture to my storage space, and then driving across the country. ^_^ The move went very smoothly. I was thrilled to drive in good weather from Arizona all the way down to Tampa, Florida. I hit a couple afternoon showers once I was in the Florida peninsula, but other than that, it was sunny for all 2,100 miles, which I completed in four days.

Once I arrived at my destination, I had some help unpacking my car (which was completely full), and I chilled for the rest of the day. Roger and I went out for a couple pieces of furniture over the last few days, and I have now completely unpacked my stuff into my new room. I still need to put up pictures and such, but the main components of my room are all in place, which makes me very happy!

I’ve only been here for a few days, and I’ve already been treated to lubee (a rice and lamb dish that has a very warm, cinnamon-y sauce), cheese fondue, and Thai food. I’ve tried my first grilled nutella and marshmallow fluff sandwich (so decadent and rich!) and this afternoon will be my first time eating salmon (in homemade salmon cakes, no less XD). Needless to say, I’m being very well fed here. 😀

On the business front, I’ve sent out all the review requests for Rachel Haimowitz’s new release, Where He Belongs, and set up a couple promo bits with blogs/review sites. Today, Saundra and Roger will be setting up the fanfiction contest for Rachel Haimowitz, and we’ll be messing around a bit with our favourite RP characters (mostly characters from Egaea who have been swimming in our heads while I made the drive down to Florida). We have to work out what needs to be done to the Other Side of Night: Bastian & Riley manuscript and tackle that, but we have a ton of new ideas that we’d love to get started on.

We’ll also be picking up A Knight’s Sacrifice, which is a bit of serial fiction we’ll be releasing on our blogs and websites for free. It somehow made its way onto Goodreads, even though it isn’t something we’ll be formally publishing for quite a while, but I thought it was kind of cool that someone was looking forward to reading more from the story.

After Other Side of Night and Polyfidelity are both written, the sky is the limit! We have ideas ranging from fairy tale retellings to albino werewolves to twincest to Dorian Gray. Plus, there are still the stories we already have planned like the Wanderlust trilogy with Lilith and Cain (of biblical fame), and our own contributions to the various Storm Moon Press anthology calls, so you definitely have a lot to look forward to from me and S.L. Armstrong.

Happy Fourth of July to those who live in the United States! (And a belated Happy Canada Day as well!) I hope everyone has a great long weekend! Stay tuned for a quickie post on new cover art! Eye candy is always good for holidays, right? ^_-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

