Skip to content

Current Score: Self-fulfilling Prophecy 3, Me 0. :(

January 30, 2012

I realize I’ve been silent since the conclusion of the Advent Challenge back near Christmas! So sorry to have kept everyone waiting for another update! Storm Moon Press had a total of nine releases during December, so everyone was quite busy during the holiday season. I’ve also been working with those authors to promote their current and upcoming releases, and we’ve been finalizing our convention schedule for SMP during 2012. Long story short, we’ll be attending New York’s Rainbow Book Fair (March), Outlantacon (May), St. Pete Pride (June), Authors After Dark (August), GayRomLit (October), and Necronomicon (October). So busy!

My big current release at the moment is Advent: Collected Shorts, co-authored with the talented S.L. Armstrong. In addition to the 29 shorts we wrote and posted up for the Advent Challenge in November and December, this collection has 17 all new pieces! Some of them are self-contained short stories while others are peeks into characters in our WIP list. There’s also a deleted scene from our BDSM novel Catalyst tucked in there, so at 175,000 words, it’s definitely worth the $5.99 price tag. I hope everyone who enjoyed the advent pieces will buy the actual e-book for the additional content. There are some really great new stories in there!

On the writing side now, I’m working on the first book in a trilogy of fantasy novels with S.L. Armstrong. These take place in Otherworld, the parallel world the faeries live in. We call this trilogy the Pawns trilogy, as each story is based on a chess game. Each piece is a character, each section of the story a back and forth of move and countermove. It’s a very unique format for a story, so we’re hoping that taking a chance with it and writing from various characters’ points of view will both excite and intrigue the reader. I’ll be posting up the occasional snippet from it as we write, so stay tuned for that in the coming weeks! If your curiosity can’t wait, you can check it out HERE.

Now, to the actual title of this blog post, you may have noticed that I have a lot of difficulty keeping a blogging schedule and such. I’m a less-than-stellar if not horrible blogger, and I own that. *laughs* It’s certainly not my forte, as I love to make long, thought-out blog posts, and those take much more time and effort than I’m usually graced with any given week. My co-author so very aptly pointed out, however, that blogging shouldn’t be like essay writing. I’m no longer in college, after all, so I need to get out of the mindset that everything has to be perfect and intellectually stimulating and deep. I also have that niggling voice in the back of my head that triggers the well-known ‘No one reads my blog anyway. No one cares what I have to say.’ response, which keeps me from posting, and then keeps me from getting followers to my blog who would then read subsequent posts.

Ah, self-fulfilling prophecy. You truly are my downfall. I give in to you every time! But wait… maybe with a little positive thinking, I can beat this! And that’s what I intend to do, folks. Once again, I’m kicking my own butt (or at least taking a well-meant butt-kicking from my co-author XD) and will be attempting to post up more frequently. S.L. has helped me by compiling a bit of a list for me to think over, and she’s a fount of ideas and encouragement, so I hope you’ll stick with me through the month of February as I give the 2-3 posts per week format a try on this blog! I hope I come up with some fun stuff for everyone to read and enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

