Skip to content

Picture Post: Flying Trapeze

February 8, 2012

A little-known fact about me? I used to do flying trapeze! Truth is, I’ve always had a soft spot for the circus arts. It’s one of the reasons I was thrilled to write Blood and Absinthe, which is one of the exclusive bonus short stories to be included in the e-book release of Advent: Collected Shorts. That short story gives you a peek into a demonic circus that has an old-world feel to it. S.L. Armstrong and I are eventually going to write a bit more into that world, and I’m definitely looking forward to stretching my writing skills to cross over into my real life passion of circus arts. 😀

For your viewing pleasure today, I have a video in place of a picture. This video isn’t of me, exactly, but it’s one of the flying trapeze trick I was able to do: Back-End Splits Catch. This girl does an angel position on the return swing after she’s been caught, but I hadn’t gotten that far. When it came down to it, I was doing flying trapeze training right when I was starting massage therapy school (hello day job!), so I had to choose between keeping my hands smooth for school or doing trapeze. Hands won. But I still love trapeze and aerial hoop (lyra) and aerial silks (tissu)! Any chance I get, I’ll sneak a bit of my beloved aerial arts into my fiction when it comes to our demonic circus.

Does anyone else out there have a hidden talent like this? Does anyone reading this like circus stuff, too? If you do, comment and tell me what parts you like. My favorites are always aerial arts and contortion, but do you have a favorite circus act? ^_^

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 9:22 pm

    oh wow, no way! have lotsa circus chums 🙂 im not nearly strong/bendy enough, but its great to watch!! my friends are obsessed with hoops right now, and my friend did a double act on (aerial) hoop, 2 girls dressed as victorian ladies with parasols, they hung cupcakes from a chandelier and after some tricks they ate the cakes. left a right mess onstage after too XD can find pics if you want?
    would love to read circus themed! i just bought ‘the night circus’ for my aerial chum. apparently the makes of twilight (oh dear!) just bought the rights for the film, so can imagine circus is gonna get huge as a theme soon!

    • February 8, 2012 9:57 pm

      I’d love to see pictures. ^_^ Always happy to geek out with other circus fans! You can send anything like that to my kpiet AT kpiet DOT net e-mail.

      *cringes at the thought of circus becoming mainstream* Circus is my baby. XD I shudder to think what bad writing will come out of circus becoming a more mainstream theme. One would hope some really great fiction would come out of that, and I hope that Storm Moon Press would end up with a couple great manuscripts of GLBT circus stories, but we’ll see what happens and which direction the various genres go. So much potential in the theme that I understand why it would appeal to a broad audience. *grins*

      I did hand-balancing, basic contortion, flying trapeze and a little bit of aerial hoop. Now, all I can really do is my hoopdancing (which is more of hula hooping + dance than what most people think of, which is Native American style hoopdance). I’m a huge fan of Cirque du Soleil, though, and I’m hoping I’ll eventually get to see a few more of their shows. Their newest touring show, Amaluna, showcases a lot of female acrobats, so I’d love to see it if it tours nearby. 😀

      Thanks for commenting!

      • February 8, 2012 10:05 pm

        pleasure! 🙂 likewise, i lurrrve the circus! being a ringmaster is my dream job XD
        yeah goodness knows what it’ll turn out like! i feel the same, everything i like gets mainstreamed eventually :o/ but am also hoping that means all my circus chums get more work! so many talented ppl and not enough work here.

        ill have to tell my friend about hoop dancing, she loves learning new things! theres lovely circuses about. shes a fan of No Fit State Circus, who are a bit more modern. they did a fun aerial version of basketball/Quiddich sorta thing. nice and humorous.

        i saw the Batman Live show few months ago, it was all Joker/Gotham circus themed, frickin awesome. esp when Batman came flying down and his cape wafted over his head. i was in stitches! XD

      • February 8, 2012 10:10 pm

        ps. have you got any pics of you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

