Skip to content

Picture Post: I Wish I Were In Kyoto

February 15, 2012
tags:

Today’s picture post is one of longing… and no, it doesn’t involve anyone naked (no NSFW rating this time, but you can check back next Wednesday ^_-). Today, I’m thinking about Japan. My fascination with Japan started quite young. In fact, I think it just might be genetic. My mother has been dreaming of visiting Japan her entire life. Fortunately for her, she’ll be taking that vacation of a lifetime this coming April. I’m super excited for her and my dad, since it’s the first time they’ve gone on a large vacation together since… well… probably before they had me and my sister so long ago. XD

I wish I could join them, but finances are definitely not in a place to support a three or four week long, trans-pacific vacation to the other side of the world. I also wouldn’t want to spoil my parents’ fun. I’d probably want to see a bunch of different places they have little interest in. They’ll be going during the cherry blossom season, though, so my big hope is that they’ll bring back a gargantuan amount of pictures for me to wade through and enjoy. One of the places I would love to go is Kyoto. The pictures I see of the city and surrounding landscapes and temples during the autumn are just stunning. I’m a big fan of autumn foliage and bright colors in general, and to see the colors change in Kyoto would just be a dream come true for me.

One of these days, I’ll include my love of Japanese culture and aesthetic in one of the stories I write. Sometime in the future, one of the books in the Other Side of Night series will star three characters (at least one of whom is a vampire) who are all Japanese. I look forward to writing that story, though the to-write pile of ideas just keeps stacking higher and higher. XD

Click to enjoy these pictures with me today, and just breathe in the beauty. ^_^

Garden Staircase – Kyoto, Japan Autumn Colors in Kyoto, Japan Kiyomize-dera – Kyoto, Japan

Do you have a place somewhere in the world which you’ve always wanted to visit but haven’t yet? Where would you like to go? Share a picture or tell us a little about it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

