Skip to content

Taking the Good with the Bad

February 18, 2012

Today’s blog entry is a little different (and a day late. Apologies!). While I’ve been trying to bring a bit of myself to my blog posts, this one will give a little current events look at my personal life. No, I’m not about to get down and dirty with anything, but this is where I get to admit that I don’t have a cushy day job that pays all the bills without a problem. Fact is, I have a massage therapy job that has been in at a steady decline in quality over the last couple months. The staff there is primarily Spanish-speaking, which doesn’t bother me too much, but it means that I don’t have a voice in a lot of the spa-related issues that affect me as a massage therapist. Heck, I’m not even included in the big meetings where everyone shows up because it would mean translating everything into English. There are a lot of little issues I have with the way management runs the business, and when you’re in a field like massage therapy, you have to have very clear documentation of each session, which is one area this place really doesn’t put any emphasis. Is the place full of bad people? No, not by a long shot, but there are a lot of ways in which I can’t fully participate, and I can’t see myself moving forward there, which is a problem.

All in all, I’m unhappy where I am, and I know I could better utilize my massage therapy skills, so I’m looking for another job. Today, the place I had planned to do a hands-on interview (where I massage a member of management to get the thumbs up for a position) halted the entire process because of the days off I will need to take in order to attend conventions for Storm Moon Press throughout the year. It was sort of a ‘Do not pass go; do not collect $200’ moment, and it made me sad to know that my job search had just hit a speed bump.

Storm Moon Press is my life. It’s what I have poured myself into since its inception, and I love the business so much! When it comes to my day job, I’ve found that I will have to find a way to balance, to work the schedule of my day job around the schedule I set in place for myself at Storm Moon Press. While that definitely isn’t a bad thing, it’s easier said than done. That’s a peek at the challenges I’m currently facing, though, and I’m not the type to back down or give up on finding the right fit just because it’s a little difficult.

With the bad comes the good. Some of the great things that have happened recently are that I’ve managed to Skype with my family (which is great fun and important when they live a few time zones over), we’re still getting great reviews on Catalyst, and my short story, The Fire of Her Eyes, was just released. If I hadn’t made time in my schedule for writing and publishing, I wouldn’t have the chance to celebrate seeing my stories out there in the market. Storm Moon Press has acquired a good deal of manuscripts as well, so it’s really exciting to work with new people and start the process of completing their books and promoting them once they’re released.

As much as I’m disliking my day job at the moment, I’m loving what I do with Storm Moon Press, and that’s just as important. Once I can find the right balance and get my day job where I’d like it to be, I think I’ll really hit my stride and enjoy my life and my work more fully.

Interaction time! Do any of you have jobs you hate? Jobs you love? Share a little bit about what you do and if it interacts positively or negatively with your writing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 8:43 pm

    if i could afford a full time masseusse i would gladly make use of you n__n

    hope it irons out soon enough!

    • February 20, 2012 8:47 pm

      @Melanie: *laughs* It would be great to have regular clients like that. 😀 Things have been going well. I put in my application at another possible place. I’m hoping to schedule an interview/hands-on with them soon. At the very least, the front desk people loved me, which is always a plus. I also got to give out a couple Storm Moon Press cards in the process, so that’s a win, either way. 😄

Leave a Reply

