Skip to content

Triumph – Learning Something New

January 31, 2013

I love it when I learn something new in the business of publishing. A lot of the time, I stick to social media, but every so often, I see one of my co-owners stressing because they have far too much to do and not enough time to do it in. It’s times like those in which I offer to perhaps learn something new so I can help ease the pressure. At least a little bit. It takes a little training, but then they don’t have to worry about it anymore.

A while back, I learned how to put together the official SMP Newsletter. I still need a little help and input from my co-owners, of course, but I now know how to put everything together and format things so they look pretty. ^_^

What I’ve learned much more recently is how to typeset books for the printer. As in, making the e-book version of a book into the print version of the book. Typically, this job fell to either S.L. or to our freelance typesetter, but I’ve now learned the ropes and have triumphed! In the last monght, I’ve typeset the print editions of Devil’s Night, Torn in Two, Weight of a Gun II, Milk & Cookies & Handcuffs, After the First Taste of Love, and Making Ends Meet. I also helped out to re-format Fraternal Devotion, since that book was ‘supressed’ by Amazon and, therefore, CreateSpace refused to print it even for personal use. (Stupid censorship of legit incest-kink! We’re working with another printer to make sure we can get the book out in print.)

In short, I’ve been a very busy girl with typesetting a bunch of anthologies and novels/novellas that were waiting in the queue! It’s very exciting! Now, I freely admit that S.L. is the graphic genius here, so she’s the one responsible for the covers and internal illustrations, but the rest has been me. I’m still learning the ins and outs of section breaks (which are a pain in the ass when it comes to messing with headers and footers, by the way), but I’m very proud to have learned something new. It makes me feel active, productive, and helpful… not to mention involved in the printing process, which was one of the things I didn’t have a hand in at all before now.

Now that I’ve pretty much caught up the press on the backlog of print versions that needed typesetting, it’ll be back to the grindstone with proofreading and booking up blog tours. The 3rd Anniversary Blog Tour has been a HUGE success, which also makes me proud, since coordinating it with 18 authors and nearly two dozen websites was time consuming to say the least. Time consuming, but SO rewarding. I can’t describe how good it feels to see a blog tour that big come together without any big hitches. All the contributing authors got their posts in on time, there were only small formatting issues once the posts went live, and all the blog hosts were excellent to work with, including the new ones SMP had never visited before. We introduced readers to new authors, had some amazing giveaways… it’s just been fantastic this year.

And in other news, S.L. and I are making a little progress on our serial fiction, Overture, which is Season 1 of our Immortal Symphony serial. 😀 It’s a joy to be writing Dorian Gray in an Urban Fantasy version of current day, and I really hope everyone loves the series. S.L. and I are currently writing episode 3 out of 6. Can’t wait to share these episodes with everyone! Pre-orders are now up for the season pass, which pays in advance so you get each episode as it releases each month. You also get extras with the season pass that you can’t get any other way, and you get the complete e-book version of the season once the season concludes after the sixth episode. Definitely worth checking out, and you can read a sexy excerpt by clicking the picture below. ;D

Question time!

Have you learned a new skill recently? If so, what have you learned? Is it busywork or does it make you feel triumphant when you complete the task?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 11:47 am

    No new skills here – more like mastering the art of full-on angst when my work-in-progress lurches to a halt or moves forward in creaky fits and starts.

    Re: Fraternal Devotion – I prefer to purchase books directly from publishers’ websites since it means higher royalties for the authors, and I’m sure many other readers feel the same way.

    • January 31, 2013 4:28 pm

      So happy to hear that you purchase directly from the publisher’s website whenever possible, Hayden! It definitely helps the press and the authors when readers do that. Third party sites can be really ruthless when taking their share. Heck, I think BookStrand is the worst, taking 50%. And then ARe and Rainbow E-books both take 40%. ARe is also really bad at promoting small publishers. We’ve had several occasions where we signed up for promotion with them, but get turned away in favor of larger presses who don’t really need the visibility. Those things combined REALLY cut into an author’s potential earnings, y’know?

      We love when readers come to us directly. Plus, at SMP, we have the reader rewards, which gives you points to earn toward free books. 😀 We try to make it appealing! You’re not typically paying MORE when you go directly to the publisher, and sometimes the benefits of buying directly are awesome. (Shameless plug here, but our serial fiction has the option for buying “Season Passes”, which is exclusive to the site and includes extras not found anywhere else. ^_-)

      Also, the art of full-on angst? You mean you or your characters? *laughs*

      • February 1, 2013 1:28 am

        Oh, that would be me, not my characters.

        For the past five years, I’ve been buying nothing but books from small presses and some self-published writers. I’ve long stopped supporting mainstream publishers (even mid-sized ones) because they never have anything that appeals to me; or at least their books sound like knockoffs of knockoffs, or for my particular market, the books are just the same old, same old. Small presses always take way more chances, and they never disappoint. 🙂

Leave a Reply

