Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

November 28, 2013
tags:

Hey, everyone! A quick post to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving if you’re in the U.S. and a Happy Chanukkah if you celebrate the Jewish holidays. 🙂 I hope everyone is having a great holiday today filled with great food, good company, and high hopes for the coming winter.


 


 

What I’m thankful for this season:

1. Loving Parents & Chosen Family

I’m so very thankful to be surrounded by my closest friends this Thanksgiving. Sure, they’re my room-mates, but I’m so happy to be around them. They accept me as I am and treat me like I’m one of the family, which is just awesome when I’m so far from home. (Not to mention the food, which is just incredible, thanks to Saundra’s cooking skills. ^_-) I’m also grateful to my family out on the west coast. I miss them terribly, and I know that this holiday season is difficult on my parents as they separate. Despite all that’s going on, I still have their love, and that makes the ache from the situation lessen a bit along with the homesickness. I was lucky enough to visit them last week to help pack a bit and to celebrate my father’s 65th birthday, and I just love them so much!

2. Healthy Kittles

If any of you have been following Saundra on Facebook lately, you already know that our youngest kittle (read: young cat) became ill lately. Like… really ill. He’d been throwing up daily for a period of time, and then stopped eating and drinking and dropped a lot of weight. When we took him into the vet, they found a firm, irregularly shaped mass in his intestines, and we were told it was most likely an abscess of some sort or a tumor (either benign or malevolent). He’s been on a very strict anti-biotic schedule since then, and just a few days later, he’s already so much better. We’re so relieved when we see him not only alert, but playing with his toys, eating up a storm, and regaining his health. It was really scary to think of losing him when he’s still so young (only about 20 months at this point). I’m also just glad that the rest of the pets in our household are healthy. 🙂

3. My co-workers at Storm Moon Press

This business wouldn’t be going nearly as smoothly (if at all) without the help of some awesome people, and I’m so very grateful for the hours of hard work they put into making this business a success. Thank you to Dionne, Amanda, Kat, and Cat for all of your time and efforts. Working with you guys is really awesome, and you’re amazing people I’m honored to know.

4. My own health and wellness

Despite losing my day job because the spa I worked at went out of business after 20 years, I’m so very thankful for my good health. I have a wonderful immune system that has helped me dodge a lot of proverbial bullets, and I’m able-bodied and looking to dance my way to a more active lifestyle. I have a really positive mindset, and while I struggle sometimes with the alignment of my body with my gender identity, I still have nothing to truly complain about when all is said and done.

5. My creativity

I don’t know where I’d be without it. I love being artistic and taking a creative approach to work and play and life in general. I’m going to need it when it comes to finding a good job situation soon, but I welcome the challenge, and I know that I have support in that respect. I love the writing that I do, love KS Charms and all the jewelry I make there, and I love crafting things that bring happiness to those around me, be it stories, trinkets, or dancing. I’m grateful to have a strong creative streak and plenty of avenues I can take to express myself.

Lastly, I want to say that I’m grateful to those of you who follow my blog. I know I don’t update as often as I should, and I know some of you must be huffing at me for not putting out any of my own work lately. I’m grateful for each and every one of you, especially through these times when my writing goes on the back burner a bit. It’s a dry spell, I know, and I appreciate you guys seeing me through it!

Stay safe this holiday season, and have a great time tonight and tomorrow, be it in a food coma or courageously battling the madness that is Black Friday Sales. 😉 Happy Thanksgiving!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cari Z permalink
    November 28, 2013 8:13 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, and know that I’m very thankful for you as well:)

Leave a Reply

